Tools for Tuesday – I’m on Twitter (finally) and ohhh, it feels so good!

Like many folks approaching 40, I do not have a deft hand when it comes to the social media. In fact, to show my social media awkwardness, I just got on “the Twitter” as Betty White calls it a couple days ago and I’m still a tad gun shy about using it. Today, I got an email about a fellow writer, Don McGraw, who is now following me. My first follower! I’d do the Cher line here from the Oscar’s all those years ago, but it’s way overdone. Don has an impressive Twitter page and he Tweets as one of his characters (Will Hogarth). Pretty cool idea.

Have you been on Twitter yet? I first dismissed it as a way for bored teenagers to tell the world just how bored they were. But, after surfing it a bit I’ve found that it’s a great way for authors, or anyone who not only sells a product, but to build a relationship around that product with customers. I just tweeted about the Atlantic Monthly article I read and blogged about yesterday on the Casey Anthony trial and why the media covers certain mysteries while others get no coverage.

There’s so much to talk about on the Twitter topic, we could talk about it every Tuesday and call it “Twitter Tuesday.” But, alas, Kristen Lamb, social media for writers guru extraordinaire already has that title spoken for. So let’s keep it Tools for Tuesday. If you’ve got a great story of how you’ve used Twitter to reach your readers, do share!

*****************************************************************************************

Mark Fadden is a freelance writer and author whose latest, award-winning suspense thriller, The Brink, is now available as an eBook for Amazon.com Kindle and Barnes & Noble nook for only $2.99!

The Brink is a hell of a read.” – Bestselling author Sandra Brown

“Mark Fadden is a masterful storyteller.” – Writer’s Digest

“Mark Fadden is the next Dan Brown.” – Triple C Ranch Book Club, Southlake, Texas

Check out The Brink and Mark’s other books at http://www.markfadden.com

One Response

  1. Cute blog, but my goodness…you’re but a babe in the woods. I’m so much older, so what should I say. I was much older than you when I got my first computer. I signed up for Twitter and then gave up because I couldn’t figure out how to do anything. It is not user friendly at all, at least not to a technologically challenged senior. Good idea, though, especially using a character to tweet. I know the jargon. LOL

Leave a Reply

