The Classic Margarita and 100 degree heat – The Starsky and Hutch of Thirsty Thursdays

 

Ummm, on this the 21st straight day of 100 degree heat in Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas, I thought about how the heat and Texas are a classic relationship. And on this Thirsty Thursday, it got me thinking about the classic margarita. I’m not talking about the nuclear waste, Slurpee variety crap that’s served to us at our neighborhood franchised Tex-x joint. I’m talking about a cocktail, something that should be sipped, enjoyed, and envied. What’s best is that it’s simple to make, 5 minutes tops. Trust me, I’m a writer, I know how to make good drinks.

We’ve already covered the variations of the margarita on this blog (the jalapeno margarita), but no, now that we’re in the “ridiculous” portion of the heat-wave-o-meter, I wanted to concentrate on something that will take the bite out of the long, hot day. And I’m all about self sacrifice, so I took one for the team and had one of these earlier this evening. Just one I promise, but Sweet Fancy Moses, it did the trick.

So, without further ado, here’s the recipe:

2 oz silver tequila (upon the suggestion of my local “spiritess” I used Lunazul blanco, a moderately priced tequila)

1 oz orange liqueur (I used Patron Citronge)

juice from 1 big ass lime (or 2 smaller Mexican ones)

Put chipped ice halfway full in a metal shaker, add liquids and shake vigorously. Strain into a chilled martini glass, your favorite tumbler, or, if in a pinch, a bed pan will even do. If you’re at home by yourself, the vessel doesn’t really matter. If you’re with people, especially those you want to impress, go for the chilled martini glass. You’re supposed to sip it, but when it’s over 100 degrees, you’ll be done with this bad boy before you can ask your spouse or roommate, “was that glass clean?”

Now that your melon is well lubed, might I suggest a little light reading? Ok, Brad Thor isn’t light, you’ve got to pay attention. He’s like Tom Clancy meets James Patterson – technical stuff at warp speed. I just started reading Foreign Language yesterday and I’m already 50+pages in. I think you’ll like it.

And by the way, the classic margarita is a potent sucker, so if you have more than one and must venture out, call a friend or a cab. If not, have a few and watch some Spongebob Squarepants. It actually seems relevant after 3 classics. Enjoy the jumpstart on your weekend my friends!

 *****************************************************************************************

Mark Fadden is a freelance writer and author whose latest, award-winning suspense thriller, The Brink, is now available as an eBook for Amazon.com Kindle and Barnes & Noble nook for only $2.99!

The Brink is a hell of a read.” – Bestselling author Sandra Brown

“Mark Fadden is a masterful storyteller.” – Writer’s Digest

“Mark Fadden is the next Dan Brown.” – Triple C Ranch Book Club, Southlake, Texas

Check out The Brink and Mark’s other books at http://www.markfadden.com

Leave a Reply

