Thirsty Thursday – “It’s your civic duty to drink beer.”

I know what you’re thinking. I could have gone with a different title for this post, considering the pic:

“BUUSSSHHH….” (from the Busch beer commercials of the 90s) 

“That’s real hoppy. Hey, that’s one letter away from happy. Which is what this stuff makes me. Or Hoppy could be the name of a cool TV character, maybe my name if I were a cartoon….He-he-he-he-he (That’s supposed to be the Jon Stewart impersonation, but it doesn’t convert well on a blog)

“Man, maybe I was wrong to give this stuff up.”

Ok, the last one was a cheap shot. However I stuck with the “it’s your civic duty to drink beer” angle because that’s what San Diego mayor Jerry Sanders when he declared June “Craft Beer Month.”

San Diego has more craft breweries than anywhere in CA or, perhaps anywhere in the country. I recently visited my brother-in-law and his wife out there and, he being a big fan of craft beer, he took me on a little tour of some of his favorite spots. All I can say is Oh…sweet…Jesus! Not only was it 68 degrees all day, every day, they may be laid back about a lot of things out there, but San Diegans are serious when it comes to their beer. We visited Ballast Point and the Mission breweries (although it wasn’t open yet, it has a sweet downtown location, great place for a pre-Padres game beer) and ate at one of the Karl Strauss Brewery locations in La Jolla. We also went to my new favorite eats place in the world, Pizza Port. I stopped counting the number of  taps at PP because my eyes beheld the sight of endless rows of frozen mugs just waiting to be filled with golden deliciousness! And, did I mention the 68 degree weather? Hey, it’s been 100 degrees here in Dallas since, like, January.

Anyway, on this, the eve of yet another weekend, why not try a craft beer from San Diego and let us know what you think.  Prost!   

*********************************************************************************************

Mark Fadden is a freelance writer and author whose latest, award-winning suspense thriller, The Brink, is now available as an eBook for Amazon.com Kindle and Barnes & Noble nook for only $2.99!

The Brink is a hell of a read.” – Bestselling author Sandra Brown

“Mark Fadden is a masterful storyteller.” – Writer’s Digest

“Mark Fadden is the next Dan Brown.” – Triple C Ranch Book Club, Southlake, Texas

Check out The Brink and Mark’s other books at http://www.markfadden.com

Leave a Reply

