Mystery Monday – Could Britney Spears help you sell more books?

As this is the first post after my birthday, I wanted to thank all the peeps on Facebook that gave me a birthday shout out. I had an awesome one, surrounded by great beers, awesome German food and my wonderful family. The only one that I missed having around was my mom, who passed last year, but I know she was laughing and smiling along with us all weekend long. Now, on to business…

For this Mystery Monday, it still boggles my mind, as it probably does may writers out there, what makes a successful online marketing campaign. Here’s the screenshot of a recent Facebook ad that I ran promoting The Brink as a $2.99 ebook:

 
 best selling author Sandra Brown
 called “a hell of a read.” The Brink by Mark Fadden

I subscribe to the Search Engine Land newsletter and today’s was a great one for those of us that have ever used Facebook to advertise. Titled “3 Types Of Facebook Image Ads That Work” the article suggests that one of those images is a “happy woman.” Here’s the part that clicked for me:

“The best types of images to use in Facebook advertising are of happy women. Women who look overjoyed, free and are looking directly at the camera convert best. Images of woman can tie into almost any product like health nutrition, wellness, etc.”

The example in the article is Britney Spears smiling with text about how she lost weight. But I was thinking that a pic of a woman smiling, perhaps happy because she’s just finished a kick ass thriller that she can’t wait to tell her friends about, might just be a great ad. So, I’m gonna try one in my next FB ad and see how it goes. I’ll make sure to post the results here.

The SEL article also suggests not to use an image that can’t be recognized from a few feet away. Plus, there’s just something about a smiling woman that catches the eye of both sexes. Why? I don’t know. But once we crack open the secret of this marketing trick, maybe then the mystery of Britney helping make people more literate can finally be solved!

Thoughts? Opinions? Have you used similar pics in your FB ads? To the keyboards!

*********************************************************************************************

Mark Fadden is a freelance writer and author whose latest, award-winning suspense thriller, The Brink, is now available as an eBook for Amazon.com Kindle and Barnes & Noble nook for only $2.99!

The Brink is a hell of a read.” – Bestselling author Sandra Brown

“Mark Fadden is a masterful storyteller.” – Writer’s Digest

“Mark Fadden is the next Dan Brown.” – Triple C Ranch Book Club, Southlake, Texas

Check out The Brink and Mark’s other books at http://www.markfadden.com

Leave a Reply

