Learning from Mistakes & The Brink goes BOGO through tomorrow!

Just like I’ve told my kids 1,000 times, everyone makes mistakes. The key is to learn from them. 

And so it goes with blogging. As writers, we know very well about copyright infringement, how to quote a source correctly, but since blogging and tweeting and all things social media is so new, it’s easy to forget the rules.

Case in point. In my original post from yesterday, I copied Carol Tice’s recent post on her website about the 10 Best Articles for Writers — November 2010 as part of my blog, thinking it’s the same as retweeting, or sharing via the numerous link services that are out there (Digg, Reddit, Delicious, etc.) But as Ms. Tice informed me after reading my blog, blogging someone else’s full blog ain’t cool, and it’s copyright infringement to boot. I apologized to her and she was very gracious, and told me that it has happened to her many times. I have since edited yesterday’s post by using one of the correct ways to give props to another’s blog.

So, two lessons learned that I will pass on here: 1. if you dig someone’s posting, either just use a part of the post ( a couple paragraphs max) or link to it, just don’t use the full thing. 2. if you’re a writer, you need to check out Carol’s site.  It is chock ful ‘o awesome info for us writers.

The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step,

Rest easy tonight my friends, but stay hungry tomorrow… 

****************************************************

Two days only! The Brink goes BOGO!

Buy one signed copy for you, get one FREE

as a gift! Order yours at http://shop.markfadden.com

Here’s what readers are saying about Mark’s latest thriller The Brink:

“I finally had a chance to sit down and read The Brink–all the way through in a day and a half. The story is gripping, even frightening, and you capture the suspense in the rhythm of your prose. In places I was reading so fast I felt like I was in the chase! I’ll put it on the shelf next to my signed copy of Lonesome Dove, in the gallery of great contemporary writers!” – Bob H., Amarillo, TX

“[Mark Fadden] is the next Dan Brown.” – Arlene D., Southlake, TX

“Truly a pager turner for me. I could not put the book down. Every time I thought I had figured something out, the next twist came up. If you like conspiracy theories, you’ll love this one.” – Sharon L, Houston, TX

Want to start reading The Brink right now? Download the eBook version from amazon.com for less that $10 at http://www.amazon.com/The-Brink-ebook/dp/B003OYIEPC/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2&s=digital-text&qid=1284567122&sr=8-2 or bn.com at http://search.barnesandnoble.com/The-Brink/Mark-Fadden/e/9781450210492/?itm=1&USRI=mark+fadden.

Leave a Reply

