Should you be direct? Using direct mail for book marketing

In the battle for the eyeballs of readers, writers must try all the different ways to broadcast their message. With that in mind, I am a firm believer in going old school and new school. Social media might get all the press, but sometimes an ad in the local newspaper or networking at the local chamber function is the right way to market your book, especially when you’re having a book signing at the local bookstore, or if you think your book would make the perfect holiday gift for a fellow chamber member’s customers.

Direct mail is an advertising dinosaurs. It’s been around forever, but there’s one good reason why. It works. For the money, there’s no better way to get your message into the hands of your potential customer. And with the help of technology, direct mail lists have become very specific. Case in point, I bought a 500 address list in my home zip code for $25. I was able to use criteria such as age group (all above 18) and if they subscribed to 2 or more magazines (showed that they were readers). I again went back to the fine folks at NextDayFlyers.com and ordered 500 postcards (but received 700, a nice little bonus!) and for around $35 I had professional-quality postcards at my home ready to be mailed in about 5 days after submitting my files. $140 for postage and 2 hours worth of labor affixing the mailing labels and stamps later and my little babies were taken to the post office ready to be delivered. The cards just went out last Friday and offered this deal – 20% off copies of The Brink with free shipping – good through Nov 15. I’ve already had 7 orders from the cards and I’m expecting more.  Here’s an example of the card:

In hindsight, I should have included a message about signing up for my email list. Other than that, I gave alot of great information, but most importantly, I gave my potential customer the way to solve a problem – what to give someone this year that is personal, something that screams you spent time thinking about them. For the money, nothing beats a book signed with the gift recipient’s name at the top of the page. I know I would get a warm feeling from getting one under my tree.

The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step,

Rest easy tonight my friends, but stay hungry tomorrow… 

****************************************************

Get a signed copy of The Brink 20% off the cover price + FREE SHIPPING! Visit www.markfadden.com for more information. Hurry, offer ends Nov. 15!

Here’s what readers are saying about Mark’s latest thriller The Brink:

“I finally had a chance to sit down and read The Brink–all the way through in a day and a half. The story is gripping, even frightening, and you capture the suspense in the rhythm of your prose. In places I was reading so fast I felt like I was in the chase! I’ll put it on the shelf next to my signed copy of Lonesome Dove, in the gallery of great contemporary writers!” – Bob H., Amarillo, TX

“[Mark Fadden] is the next Dan Brown.” – Arlene D., Southlake, TX

“Truly a pager turner for me. I could not put the book down. Every time I thought I had figured something out, the next twist came up. If you like conspiracy theories, you’ll love this one.” – Sharon L, Houston, TX

Want to start reading The Brink right now? Download the eBook version from amazon.com for less that $10 at http://www.amazon.com/The-Brink-ebook/dp/B003OYIEPC/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2&s=digital-text&qid=1284567122&sr=8-2 or bn.com at http://search.barnesandnoble.com/The-Brink/Mark-Fadden/e/9781450210492/?itm=1&USRI=mark+fadden.

Leave a Reply

