A new look, a new name to the blog

Changes to the Blog

“The only constant is change.” – I forgot who said this.

If you been following this blog, you’ll see that I’ve made some changes to better reflect what this blog is all about. I hope these changes will draw some more folks into the fold so that we can have a more lively discussion about what’s working and not working in the book marketing world.

Word of Mouth Marketing (WOMM) – is old school still the way to go?

The marketing world continues to praise the Internet as the end all, be all platform to get the word out about your product. However, the numbers don’t agree. In fact, overwhelmingly, the numbers state that good old-fashioned word of mouth marketing (WOMM) is still king:

71% Face to face

21% Phone

3% Email

2% Instant Message

1% Online chatroom/blog

1% Other

Sources: McKinsey & Company 2010; Keller Fay Group, 2009

What is WOMM? Let’s say a friend of yours tells you about a new book. “I just read The Brink by Mark Fadden and it was awesome. It was so suspenseful and fast, I found myself reading as fast I could to keep up with the action. There’s also this part about a lost Constitution article, and there’s tons of Federal Reserve history and a secret society called the Bilderberg Group that I never knew about.  You’ve got to read it!” We all have had that conversation, right? And we all have purchased something based upon that friend’s recommendation, right?

I just listened to the  “Pass It On : Small Business Success Through Word-of-Mouth Marketing” webinar from PRWeb and Fizz Corporation. In it, Fizz’s Ted Wright explains how to identify what he calls “influencers” and to use them to share stories about your products, which will hopefully drive up sales. Wright also talks about how to use social media in WOMM. Whatever you are selling, or whatever business you are in, this webinar will help you with your WOMM campaign. Check it out at: http://event.on24.com/eventRegistration/EventLobbyServlet?target=lobby.jsp&eventid=243086&sessionid=1&key=1C7936E31879AFE35EACDEEB245B2C66&eventuserid=40733644

The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step,

Rest easy tonight my friends, but stay hungry tomorrow… 

****************************************************

Here’s what readers are saying about Mark’s latest thriller The Brink:

“I finally had a chance to sit down and read The Brink–all the way through in a day and a half. The story is gripping, even frightening, and you capture the suspense in the rhythm of your prose. In places I was reading so fast I felt like I was in the chase! I’ll put it on the shelf next to my signed copy of Lonesome Dove, in the gallery of great contemporary writers!” – Bob H., Amarillo, TX

“He’s the next Dan Brown.” – Arlene D., Southlake, TX

“Truly a pager turner for me. I could not put the book down. Every time I thought I had figured something out, the next twist came up. If you like conspiracy theories, you’ll love this one.” – Sharon L, Houston, TX

Want to start reading The Brink right now? Download the eBook version from amazon.com for less that $10 at http://www.amazon.com/The-Brink-ebook/dp/B003OYIEPC/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2&s=digital-text&qid=1284567122&sr=8-2 or bn.com at http://search.barnesandnoble.com/The-Brink/Mark-Fadden/e/9781450210492/?itm=1&USRI=mark+fadden.

Order a signed copy of The Brink as a keepsake for yourself or as the ultimate unique gift at http://markfadden.com/buyabook.html

Leave a Reply

