Dispatches from the literary trenches

September 15, 2010

Day 91 of 365

Books sold so far (May and June 2010): 246

In this issue:

  • Writing Topic – Going outside your comfort zone
  • Marketing Topic – Library Presentations

Marketing Topic – Going outside your comfort zone

Recently, I met a man at a book signing who told me that he had an interesting life story. Not wanting to take up my time at the signing, he told me a few details, which set his “hook”, and then we agreed to meet at a later date so that he could tell me the rest of his story.

Without going too much into it, I sat for 2 straight hours and was absolutely floored with his life story and his struggle, which took him halfway across a very foreign and scary world, all in pursuit of an education. Since then, we have met for another 2 hour meeting and we’re still not all the way finished.

I spoke to my agent about this story and he agreed it was very compelling and for me to move forward with trying to make this a book. This will be my first foray into the non-fiction side of the book world, and it will throw a wrench into the writing schedule for my next novel, but there’s something that feels right about it.

What I’m trying to say is two things: you never know who you’ll meet at signings or appearances, so try to do as many as you can. And two, even though some writing projects may be out of your comfort zone, it’s still an opportunity to write, to make it on to your reader’s nightstand, and that’s why we all do this.

With this project, my blog entries will be sparser, probably a few a week rather than daily M-Th. I hope you’ll stick around, because while I don’t know what’s around the corner with my writing career, I hope I can pass whatever happens along as a learning, or at least a laughter, experience.  

Marketing Topic – Library Presentations

I will be presentingGetting Your Book Read: how writers must think like entrepreneurs if they want anyone besides their mother to read their books’ tomorrow night at 6:30pm at the Little Elm Library in Little Elm, Texas. I’m doing a Powerpoint presentation on using websites, signings, news releases, reviews, and social media to market books. If I can figure out how to post the presentation on my blog, I will do so on Friday. I’ll also provide a review of the presentation and the signing I’m doing afterward. Should be fun for all. That being said, no post tomorrow night, but look for one on Friday.

Till then…

The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step,

Rest easy tonight my friends, but stay hungry tomorrow…  

 

Leave a Reply

