Writing and marketing your novel: A glimpse from the trenches

September 14, 2010

Day 90 of 365

Books sold so far (May and June 2010): 246

In this issue:

  • Marketing Topic – The only constant is change
  • Marketing Topic – International Man of Mystery – the results of Day 1

Marketing Topic – The only constant is change

I completely changed the look of my website, and added a shopping cart that allows people to buy signed books straight from me, since I just got a big shipment of books in. By allowing people to buy straight from me, not only does it give me a larger share of the profit on each book, it allows me to track my sales in real time, which allows me to better manage my advertising campaigns.  

Check it out at www.markfadden.com and let me know what you think.

Marketing Topic – International Man of Mystery – the results of Day 1

Last night I shared my latest ad campaign, aimed squarely at the Asian countries. In my research about the financial crisis, I came across a book called Currency Wars by Song Hongbing. Released in 2007, it sold over 200,000 copies in China and was even bedtime reading selections by some of the highest finance and government officials in China. To quote an article on the book, Currency Wars, “After all, the root of the world’s problems for nearly a century – from the Great Depression to the Asian financial crisis – is Wall Street’s manipulation of the global financial system, he says. China should be prepared to fight ‘bloodless wars’ waged by ‘evil forces’ like the US Federal Reserve aimed at destroying the Chinese economy, Mr. Song’s book concludes.” The book has also had a recent resurgence of popularity. So why all the Chinese attention? Because economic nationalism is at an all-time high in China. Many Chinese think that their country should flex its economic muscles to become the world’s leading superpower.

Anyway, I’m hoping to capitalize on the popularity of this book and I placed the following ad in a Google AdWords campaign:

The results? I got 150 clicks today and maxed out my daily budget. Again, I’m going to start selling signed books straight from the site through a Paypal shopping cart, so we will now hopefully see sales numbers in real time, which can help determine what kind of advertising is working.

The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step,

Rest easy tonight my friends, but stay hungry tomorrow…  

Leave a Reply

