Writing and marketing your novel: A glimpse from the trenches

August 2, 2010

Day 50 of 365

Books sold so far (as of the end of May 2010, which is my first official month – sales reports in this industry lag big time!): 157

 In this issue:

  •  Writing topic – The dreaded question, “So when’s your next novel coming out?”
  • Marketing topic – Video may have killed the radio star, but radio can still rock your message

 Writing topic – The dreaded question, “So when’s your next novel coming out?”

 Blog #50! It seems like some kind of milestone, but I still don’t have my June sales #s in yet. Curses!  Oh well, let’s keep plugging away, shall we?

 I love every person who has invested the time to read my books. And that’s exactly what it is you know, an investment. They are taking a chunk of their finite time on this planet and using it to read what I’ve written. God love them. After they finish the latest book, the question sooner or later comes out, “So when does the next book come out?” A writer, like so many entertainers, is only as good as his or her next product. So that begs the question, “When the *&*$#@#% do we find the time to work on the next novel when we’re busy marketing the current one, and holding down a day job and probably having some kind of interaction with our families?”

 If I sound like a crybaby, I don’t mean to. I’m trying to give a voice to the overwhelming consensus of most writers that must struggle with time management. While I have 3 novels in the hopper, they are less than ready to go. Whenever I review them, I spill much red ink. It’s just goes along with evolving as a writer. On The Brink, I worked with Mark Graham, who did an amazing job editing the novel. I’ve referred to him as my “writing coach” during that period, because he taught me so much during that time period. He took a pudgy and slow Philly leg breaker and turned him into the greasy-fast Italian Stallion who spit lightning and crapped thunder (If you haven’t seen the Rocky movies, you ain’t gonna get that one). I wrote those three novels before working with Mark and they all need work. So, starting in September, I’m going to whip 2 of them into fighting shape to be ready for next summer when my promotional campaign for The Brink ends. My plan is to devote 2 hours a day to them. How about you? Got any novels that are ready but not really ready? Starting from scratch? How much time every day do you plan to commit to it? Just want to vent about something? To the keyboards!  

 Marketing topic – Video may have killed the radio star, but radio can still rock your message

 This Saturday (Aug 7), I’ll be doing a radio show called, “Books n’ Authors” on a local radio station. The show will be broadcast at 10:00am on 89.5 KYQX and 88.5 KMQX radio in Weatherford, Texas, and on the Internet at www.qxfm.com. This is my third time to do the show and Linda Bagwell, the host, is absolutely fantastic. She’s a great interviewer for two reasons – one, she can show enthusiasm even if your book was titled, “The 101 Most Boring C-Span Transcripts” and two, if you send in the questions you want asked, she’ll ask them to you on the air. Most TV and radio shows give their guests some input into the questions that are being asked or let them create the actual questions. It saves the station staff time to try and come up with questions. So, as far as my best radio interview tip is concerned, if you’re ever on the radio, TV, or are doing any kind of interview, ask the interviewer WELL IN ADVANCE if you can give them a set of questions to use for the interview. 9 chances out of 10 they’ll jump on it.

 Tomorrow night, I’ll post the questions I came up with tonight after your sweet heads have hit your pillows. Until then…

 The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step,

rest easy tonight my friends, but stay hungry tomorrow…  

 

Leave a Reply

