The Nightstand Diaries – 1 year, 5,000 books, and an (almost) anything goes approach to marketing

It’s named “The Nightstand Diaries” because in terms of publishing a book, it doesn’t mean squat that you’re published. It doesn’t mean squat that your book is on a bookstore shelf. It’s only when someone takes your book home and reads it – as a way to relax on a lounge chair, pass time on a subway, or as the last mental exercise before putting it on the nightstand and going to bed – that you become a part of your readers’ lives. With this notion in mind, I invite you to come along as I try to do that very thing. My goal is to try and sell 5,000 copies of my new novel The Brink over the next year.

Day 3 of 365

Marketing The Brink – Today’s efforts

With my book signing event at my local Border’s store coming up on Saturday, I took 75 flyers with bookmarks attached to the Lifetime Fitness that’s in our town. If I may digress here for a second, I freakin’ love that place. It’s got everything a 37-year-old, slightly vain man with a penchant for the occasional full-bodied beer who’s never met a meal he didn’t like could ever possibly need to keep in shape. I have been to a couple other Lifetimes, one in Houston and another one in Flower Mound, and they are all well-maintained and the entire staff seems to have drunk from the “excellence in customer service” punch bowl.

Colleyville Lifetime’s GM, Dana Brunk, said she would display them and I thank her for that. I also took a flyer to Market Street, an awesome Colleyville grocery store, that also has a fantastic beer selection – they even stocked a radler (1/2 german beer and ½ lemonade concoction that my wife loves) for a while. While my mission was to get my flyer tacked to the community corkboard, where announcements are posted, I struck up a conversation with Mary Macdowell and she mentioned that the cooking class department is looking for a book to select where they can cook the food mentioned in it. I told Mary that there are basically three dishes in The Brink – tamales, chicken cheese steaks, and Eggs Carver (scrambled eggs and chorizo served on a bed of Cajun spiced hashbrowns). She took an extra copy of my flyer and was going to give it to the cooking class administrator to see if they want to select the book for their class. Maybe I’ll be a guest and get to eat the class projects. Cool!

Here’s a link to the flyer:

Colleyville Borders book signing poster lifetime version

Leave a Reply

